Reverberations

Please read: if you have any triggers or sensitivity or just no interest in reading about violence or abuse then this is not the post for you. There are still a few lighter posts kicking around if you’re looking for reading material!

It was a warm and sunny afternoon in October 2023.

I was sitting in Ohlone Park.

I was reading a book about Madagascar.

I wanted to understand the field research I’m about to start.

There were already so many echoes.

I was sitting half on a towel and half in the mud because if there’s a way to get dirty, Matt McGee will find it. My water bottle and my phone were beside me. My headphones were around my neck. Dogs were barking. Cars were driving by. The wind was stirring the leaves. Someone was yelling angrily far away.

I was too distracted by the beautiful day to look down at my book. I was too content with the noises of the park to listen to music. Because of that I had 2 or 3 seconds to react when he came for me. It was enough time for me to defuse the situation, some instinct from childhood kicking in before I even knew what was going on. I still don’t know what really happened.

I sat numb on my towel for another hour, looking at my phone.

The past reverberates in weird ways. The language between them. The *speed*. But where the reverberations end also matters.

Things were worse back then. I remember sitting outside the toolshed hours later. My mom was standing in front of me crying and asking me what I was going to do. I knew it was over then, that my family would stand by him. For a short while that afternoon I thought maybe things would finally change. It was the second time that day I was wrong. It’s a remarkable thing, the moment when the tether snaps, when you start to fall and no one tries to catch you. The world never looks the same after that. So I ran, and I could never stop running. It took me two years to tell someone.

It’s not a secret anymore. I can talk openly about it without much trouble but I can never figure out when or where to bring it up. Kind of hard to find a good segue into triggering developmental trauma sometimes, ya know? At some point I stopped telling people, and it started to feel like a secret again. My shoulders started to sag with the weight of it.

But it’s never too late to start talking again. Talking too much has never really been a challenge for me anyway, am I right folks??? Things are so much different now. This time it only took me three days to tell someone. This time I stopped the spiral right as it was beginning. This time I don’t feel alone or untethered or like I need to run. This time I feel like I can get back to a real sense of normality. This time I knew how I needed to process this—by writing about it, and sharing it with people. And those are the things that will reverberate into the future.

Also shout out to Big Z, who has talked me through both of these events. A truly amazing friendship brought together by the power of herps!

Published by


Leave a comment